fbpx

Weekend 1 – UCLA Asian American Studies Center 2021 Film Festival

Posted on Feb 24, 2021 in Past Events

APIQWTC is a Community Partner for this 2-weekend film festival.

UCLA Asian American Studies Center 2021 Film Festival
(Presented by UCLA Asian American Studies Center and UCLA Film & Television Archive).
Films Festival Schedule
WEEKEND 1: February 19-21, 2021
WEEKEND 2: February 26-28, 2021
More info, please visit:  UCLA AASC 2021 Film Festival | AASC
All programs are free, but require RSVP. All programs are free, but require RSVP. All of the RSVP links are on this website.

Weekend 1


Image of protestor, still from Down a Dark Stairwell.

Complexities of Race

Friday, February 19, 2021
4 PM PST / 7 PM EST / 2 PM HST
DOWN A DARK STAIRWELL (2021) -Dir: Ursula Liang.
Liquor Store Babies (2018) – Dir: So Yun Um.
Thank You, Come Again (2020) – Dir: Nirav Bhakta.
The Dope Years: The Story of Latasha Harlins (2021) – Dir: Allison A. Waite.


ANNA MAY WONG:

Image of Anna May Wong

ASIAN AMERICAN ICON

Saturday, February 20, 2021

3 PM PST / 6 PM EST / 1 PM HST 

THE TOLL OF THE SEA (1922) – Dir: Chester M. Franklin.
“Anna May Wong: The first Asian American Movie Star” (4/8/2020).
“Anna May Wong Visits Shanghai, China” (5/1/1936).
Hollywood, Season 1, Part 2 – Clip (5/1/2020), Courtesy of Netflix.


from MOANANUIĀKEA of boat with people sailing

ENVIRONMENTAL JUSTICE & SPIRIT OF ALOHA

Sunday, February 21, 2021 

PART 1 | 2 PM PST / 5 PM EST / 12 Noon HST 

Back to the Source (2020) – Dir/Scr: Sandra Carbonell-Kiamtia. Illustrator/Animator: Sylvia Bi.
Standing Above the Clouds (2019) – Dir: Jalena Keane-Lee. 
This Is The Way We Rise (2020) – Dir: Ciara Lacy. 

PART 2 | 5 PM PST / 8 PM EST / 3 PM HST 

MOANANUIĀKEA: ONE OCEAN, ONE PEOPLE, ONE CANOE (2018) – Dir: Nā’ālehu Anthony.

Go here for information on Film Festival Weekend 2

do_action('mec_after_main_content');
0 Shares
Share via
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap